Our Mission

Improve the lives of others by mobilizing the caring power of our community.

Our Vision

Build a community in which everyone has the aspirations, resources and opportunities to reach their fullest potential.

We are your neighbors, co-workers and friends. We are a collaboration of donors, volunteers, organizations and experts—UNITED around the shared sense of purpose to reduce poverty in our community. Founded in 1923, United Way of Central Ohio is one of the largest United Ways in the country. We bring together more than 80,000 donors, advocates and volunteers, because when we speak and act together, we have the power to do more and our impact multiplies.

Learn more

United Way of Central Ohio is a
volunteer-driven organization

Concerned and compassionate citizens created United Way of Central Ohio to help people in need and make our community a better place for everyone.

Today, we are mobilizing the caring power of thousands of individuals and central Ohio employers to advance the common good.  Together, we are working to create opportunities for a better life for all.  We are joining hands, opening our hearts, lending our muscle and finding our collective voice.

Planning and Investment Committee

The Planning and Investment Committee provides the strategic guidance and oversight necessary to ensure the advancement of UW’s funding investments. The committee helps to ensure that funding investments align with UW’s Community Impact strategies. The Planning and Investment Committee oversees the coordination of UW’s Program Investment Process, provides strategic guidance on development and implementation of System & Innovation and Neighborhood Based investment agendas; reviews proposed investments and sources potential new investment opportunities. The committee also provides the strategic guidance and expertise necessary for performance measurement and continuous learning and improvement.

Trudy Bartley, Chair

  • Derrick Antwi
  • Amiee Bowie
  • LaShaun K. Carter
  • Hope Cotter
  • Byron Ekey (Fisher Fellow)
  • Steven Gladman
  • Isi Ikharebha Green
  • Jeremy Gutierrez
  • Paul Haggard
  • Hannah Jones
  • Nicholas Jones
  • Bill Lafayette, Ph.D.
  • Jennifer Marshall
  • Steve Mason
  • Patrick Westerlund


Public Policy Committee

The Public Policy Committee provides strategic guidance and expertise needed to create and implement a public policy agenda that supports United Way of Central Ohio’s mission to reduce poverty.

Fred Ransier, Chair

  • Darnita Bradley
  • Tara Britton
  • Shawna Bosse Davis
  • Amy Goyal
  • Holly Gross
  • Hannah Halbert
  • Lisa Patt-McDaniel
  • Max Pristic
  • Michael Madriaga
  • Tracy Nájera
  • Zach Reat
HR Committee

Robert Tannous, Chair

  • Julia R. Baxter
  • Kevin E. Griffith
  • Joy Lehman
  • Michelle Miller
  • Lori Pierson
  • Katrina Plourde
  • Camille Thompson
  • Elliott Tobias
  • Lisa G. Whittaker
Audit Committee

Provides strategic direction and oversight for the annual audit, internal controls, potential risks and exposures for the organization.

Duane Casares, Chair

  • Carrie Harris-Muller
  • Craig Marshall
  • Jeff Miller
  • Rick Schumacher Jr.
  • Elise Spriggs
  • Brad Walters
Executive Committee

The Executive Committee is comprised of the Chair, the Chair-elect, the immediate past Chair, the Treasurer/Secretary, the vice chairs, a member agency representative, and a representative of organized labor. The Executive Committee shall have the power to act on behalf of the full Board of Trustees between meetings.

Donald E. Brown, Chair

Lisa Ingram, Immediate Past Chair

  • Barbara Benham
  • Duane Casares
  • Dan Crane
  • Mark Fluharty
  • Robert Tannous
Finance Committee

Provides strategic direction and oversight for the financial operations of the organization including the operating budget, pledge collections and other financial matters. Reports to the United Way of Central Ohio Board of Trustees.

Dan Crane, Chair

  • Mark Bidstrup
  • Brad Campbell
  • Rachel Caviness
  • Laura DiFillippo
  • Doug Feller
  • Doug Fosnaugh
  • Jeremy Gutierrez
  • Noah Gyimah
  • Timothy King
  • Chelsie Lanthorn
  • Elizabeth Martinez
  • Bill McGee
  • Denise Robinson
  • Stephanie Smith
Nominating & Governance Committee
Barbara Benham, Chair


  • Donald E. Brown
  • Lisa Ingram
  • Chad Jester
  • Robert Tannous
Marketing & Communications Committee

Provides strategic marketing and communication expertise to United Way of Central Ohio (UWCO).  The marketing and communication experts on this committee will advise UWCO on strategies for critical communications, as well as assist with developing long-range marketing plans that maximize the impact of key brand messages.

Jim Kilgore, Chair

  • Molly Culbertson
  • Tiffany Grinstead
  • Ted Hattemer
  • Xan Palay
  • Cheryl Pentella
  • Gayle Saunders
  • Elise Spriggs
Resource Development Committee

The Resource Development Committee defines, champions and refines a business model that produces the resources required for United Way of Central Ohio to achieve its work. It provides strategic direction and a framework to support the Campaign Chairs’ and the staff’s annual and longer-term fundraising efforts.  And it advises the Board of Trustees on matters relating to the development of resources and appropriate policies to guide development efforts.

Martyn Redgrave, Chair

  • Jonica Armstrong
  • William Alston
  • Alex Swain Anthony
  • Debbie Donahey
  • Brandon Dupler
  • Denise Robinson
  • Elon Simms
  • Robert Tannous
  • Dr. JoAnna Williamson

Stay informed,
get connected.

We'll send you customized updates about our work, your impact, and more ways to connect.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.


Back to top